• Ava DuVernay and honoree Norman Lear at the 2016 IDA Documentary Awards

  • 2015 host Tig Notaro

  • Jane Fonda and Andie MacDowell at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Barbara Kopple and Robert Redford at the 2014 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Morgan Freeman at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Werner Herzog presents Career Achievement Awards to Les Blank at the 2011 Documentary Awards

  • 2017 host Maz Jobrani

The IDA Documentary Awards is the world's most prestigious event dedicated to the documentary genre, celebrating the best nonfiction films and programs of the year.

This year, we received almost 800 entries to the IDA Documentary Awards competition across nine categories. Our teams of 200 judges have been hard at work, screening and reviewing your films over the past months. While you wait for the full nominations, we are proud to announce the films that have been selected for Best Feature and Best Short shortlists:


Awards Ceremony

Saturday, December 7, 2019
Paramount Studios
5555 Melrose Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90038



May 6: Call for Entries open

June 10: Early deadline

June 28: Regular deadline

July 8: Extended deadline

October 7: Honorees announced

October 10: Shortlist announced and Early bird tickets on sale

October 23: Nominees announced

November 4 - December 2: IDA members vote for Best Feature and Best Short

December 7: IDA Documentary Awards ceremony

(Dates subject to change)