March 24, 2009

Awards Roundup: March 18-24, 2009

1) Awards

College Television Awards
Documentary: Standard Deviation (Dirs.: David Randag, Christopher Brannan; University of Florida)

EDN (European Documentary Network) Award for "an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture": Nenad Puhovski and ZagrebDox.

Royal Television Society Programme Awards
Arts: Arena: The Agony and the Ecstasy of Phil Spector (Dir.: Vikram Jayanti; Prod.: Anthony Wall; BBC Productions/Vixpix for BBC 2)
Documentary: The Fallen (Dir.: Morgan Matthews; Prod.: Elidie Gornall; Prods.: Minnow Films for BBC Two)
History: Victorian Sex Explorer (Dir.: Michael Waldman; Prod.: Amy Flanagan: Prod.: Blast! Film for Channel 4)
Constructed Factual Series: The Choir - Boys Don't Sing (Prod.: Twenty Twenty Television for BBC Two
Science and Natural History: Lost Land of the Jaguar (Prod.: BBC Productions, Bristol for BBC One)
Nations and Regions Programme: A Poem for Harry (Prod.: BBC West)

Streamy Awards for Excellence in Web Television--Nominees
Best Reality Web Series:
Lo-Fi St. Louis
The Mortified Shoebox Show
Penn Says
The Shatner Project

Best News or Politics Web Series:
Alive in Baghdad
Monkey News Source
Talking Points Memo TV

Television Academy Honors--saluting programs that have "had a significant impact on the viewing audience concerning vital issues."
A Home for the Holidays (Dir.: Michael Simon; Prod.: Kelly Brock; Exec. Prods.: Karen Mack, Stu Schreiberg, Stephen Kroopnick, Marilyn Seabury; Prods.: Triage Entertainment and Goldsmith Entertainment, in association with the Children's Action Network and the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption; CBS)
Breaking the Huddle: The Integration of College Football (Prod.: Joe Lavine; Exec. Prods.: Ross Greenburg, Rick Bernstein; HBO Sports)
Extreme Makeover: Home Edition: The Martirez and Malek Families (Prods.: Endemol USA, Lock and Key; ABC).
30 Days (Prod.: Sebastian Doggert; Exec. Prods.: John Landgraf, Ben Silverman, H.T. Owens, Morgan Spurlock, R.J. Cutler; Prods.: Actual Reality; FX)
Whale Wars (Prods.: RIVR Media, Lizard Trading Co.; Animal Planet)

Tex McCrary Award for Excellence in Journalism: Alex Quade/CNN

2) Festivals

European Independent Film Festival
Ecology Now! Award: Blue Gold: World Water Wars (Dir.: Sam Bozzo)
Best European Documentary Feature: Ski Heil: The Two Planks That Mean The World (Dir.: Richard Rossmann; Austria)
Best European Documentary Short: Avatar Days (Ireland)
Best Non-European Documentary: Projekt Huemul--The Fourth Reich in Argentina (Dir.: Rodrigo Vila; Argentina)

One World Human Rights Film Festival (Prague)
Grand Jury Prize: Below Sea Level (Dir.: Gianfranco Rosi)
Best Director: Jana Sevcikova (Gyumri)
Special Mentions: The One Man Village (Dir.: Simon El Habre); Because We Were Born (Dir.: Jean-Pierre Duret, Andrea Santana); The Sari Soldiers (Dir.: Julie Bridgham)
Rudolf Vrba Right to Know Prize: Pray the Devil Back to Hell (Dir.: Gini Reticker)
Vaclav Havel Award: Burma VJ (Dir.: Anders Ostergaard)
Mayor of Prague Award--Best Short Film: Three (Dir.: Goran Devic)
Special Mention: Poison Fire (Dir.: Lars Johansson)
Czech Radio Award--Best Use of Sound or Music: Cocais, The Reinvented Town (Dir.: Ines Cardoso)
Student Jury Award: Burma VJ (Dir.: Anders Ostergaard)

San Francisco International Asian American Film Festival
Best Documentary: The Mosque in Morgantown (Dir.: Brittany Huckabee)
Special Jury Award: Dirty Hands: The Art and Crimes of David Choe (Dir.: Harry Kim)

Feature Jury Award, Documentary Feature: 45365 (Dirs.: Bill Ross IV, Turner Ross)
Honorable Mention: The Way We Get By (Dir.: Aron Gaudet)
Audience Award, Documentary Feature: MINE (Dir.: Geralyn Pezanoski)
Emerging Visions--Audience Award: Motherland (Dir.: Jennifer Steinman)
Wholphin Short Film Award: Sister Wife (Dir.: Jill Orschel)
24 Beats per Second--Audience Award: Iron Maiden: Flight 666 (Dirs.: Scot McFadyen, Sam Dunn)
Lone Star States--Audience Award: Over the Hills and Far Away (Dir.: Michel Orion Scott)

Thessaloniki Documentary Film Festival
The Hellenic Red Cross Audience Award for a film over 45 minutes in the International Selection: Burma VJ (Dir.: Anders Ostergaard)
The Hellenic Red Cross Audience Award for a film under 45 minutes in the International Selection: Flowers of Rwanda (Dir.: David Munoz)
The Hellenic Red Cross Audience Award for a Greek film over 45 minutes: National Garden (Ethnikos Kipos) (Dir.: Apostolos Karakasis)
The Hellenic Red Cross Audience Award for a Greek film under 45 minutes: The World Naked Bike Ride Project in Thessaloniki (Vgikame Apo Ta Rouha Mas) (Dir.: Elli Zerbini)
FIPRESCI Awards (International Federation of Film Critics):
Greek Selection: Bathers (Louomeni) (Dir.: Eva Stefani)
International Selection: Prodigal Sons (Dir.: Kimberly Reed)
Amnesty International Award: Burma VJ (Dir.: Anders Ostergaard)
World Wildlife Fund (WWF) Award: Crude (Dir.: Joe Berlinger)
The ERT3 Broadcasting Award: Another Planet: Masik Bolygo (Dir.: Ferenc Moldoyanyi)
ERT Doc on Air Award: Rush for Life (Dir.: Kate McNaughton)