The IDA Enterprise Documentary Fund supports independent, long-form filmmakers producing journalistic films in the public interest. In addition to providing production and development grants, its mission is to make the knowledge, tools and resources traditionally afforded to journalists available to filmmakers. The Advisory Committee provides expert guidance and input on the administration of the fund and its related programs.

Advisory Committee

Monika Bauerlein
CEO, Mother Jones 

Carroll Bogert
President, The Marshall Project

Andrés Cediel
Professor, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

Dale Cohen
Director of Documentary Film Legal Clinic, UCLA School of Law

Alex Hannibal
Associate Director of Content Development, CNN FIlms

N'Jeri Eaton
Senior Manager of Programming Acquisitions, NPR

Jigar Mehta
Deputy Managing Director, Doha Debates

Marie E. Nelson
Vice President, News & Public Affairs, PBS

Rachel Raney
Director of Independent Productions, UNC-TV

Ricardo Sandoval-Palos
Pulbic  Editor, PBS

Steve Sapienza
Senior Strategist, Collaborative News Partnerships, Pulitzer Center

Trevor Timm
Executive Director, Freedom of the Press Foundation

Sky Sitney
Co-creator & co-director, Double Exposure

Paul Sturtz
Co-Director, True/False Film Fest

Katie Townsend
Litigation Director, Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

Nina Weinstein
Director of Development, MSNBC Originals

James Wheaton
President and Legal Director, Environmental Law Foundation & Senior Counsel and Founder, First Amendment Project


Filmmaker Advisory Committee

The Enterprise Documentary Fund was established with significant input from documentary filmmakers. The Filmmaker Advisory Committee was convened to ensure that the interests and perspectives of filmmakers continue to be represented in the activities of the fund. Its members do not participate in the grantee selection process in any way, nor do they participate in Advisory Committee meetings. Filmmaker advisors remain eligible to apply to all IDA funds. 




2019 Enterprise Production Fund Reviewers


Paul Abowd, Daffodil Altan, Matthew Cassel, June Cross, Ramona Diaz, Lucas Guilkey, Tony Heriza, Cassandra Herrman, Lisa Hornak, Ken Jacobson, Tom Jennings, Cynthia Lopez, John Lightfoot, Brooke Minters, Tommy Nguyen, Nicole Opper, Eva Rendle, Rafael Roy, Robert Rooy, Dan Rybicky, Marjan Safinia, Indira S. Somani, Jeff Seelbach, Shannon Service, Tsanavi Spoonhunter, Japhet Weeks, Nina Weinstein