June 15, 2010

Awards Roundup: June 9-15, 2010

The Seattle International Film Festival closed out its lengthy edition with the Grand Jury Prize for Best Documentary going to Jeff Malmberg's Marwencol, continuing that film's impressive festival circuit showing that began with an equivalent honor at SXSW in March. Leanne Pooley's The Topp Twins:
Untouchable Girls
took two prizes on both ends of the continent: Lena Sharpe Award for Persistence of Vision at Seattle and Best Documentary Feature at NewFest in New York City. The film, about the New Zealand-based music and comedy sister act of the same name, is the top grossing documentary of all time in New Zealand, and has been racking up the kudos around the world since taking the Cadillac People's Choice Award for Best Documentary at the Toronto International Film Festival last September.


1)      Awards


Golden Trailer Awards
Best Documentary: The Cove (Roadside Attractions/Lionsgate, AV Squad)
Best Music: This Is It--Domestic Trailer 1 (Sony Pictures Entertainment, Create
Advertising Group)
Best in Show: The Cove (Roadside Attractions/Lionsgate, AV Squad)


Student Academy Awards®

Gold Medal: Yizkor (Remembrance) (Dir.: Ruth Fertig, University of Texas at Austin)
Silver Medal: Rediscovering Pape (Dir.: Maria Royo, City College of New York )
Bronze Medal: Dreams Awake (Suena Despierto) (Dirs.: Kevin Gordon, Rebekah Meredith, Stanford University)



2)      Festivals



Banff World Television Festival
Rockie Awards--Non-Fiction
Entertainment Categories:
Lifestyle & Information Programs: Pitchin' In: Shrimp (Frantic Films, Food Network;  Canada)
Reality Format Programs: Famous Rich and Homeless (Love Productions, BBC; UK)
Catégories Francophone: Les vrais gagnants (Productions RPM inc., Radio-Canada;  Canada)
Documentary Categories:
Art & Performing Arts Programs: In A Dream (Herzliya Films and Red Light Films association with HBO Documentary Films; USA)
Environmental Programs: How the Earth Was Made (Pioneer Film & Television Productions, HISTORY (A&E Television Networks); UK)
History & Biography Programs: Miracle of Leipzig (Broadview TV GmbH in association with MDR; ARTE; Germany)
Investigative & Current Affairs Programs: Waste: The Nuclear Nightmare (Bonne Pioche and ARTE France in association with Sundance Channel, ARTE France; France)
Political Documentaries: Iran and the West (BBC Current Affairs in association with Brook Lapping Productions, BBC; UK)
Popular Science & Technology Programs: The Music Instinct: Science and Song, (THIRTEEN in association with Mannes Productions Inc., PBS; USA)
Social & Humanitarian Programs: The Queen and I (Real Reel in association with SVT Sveriges Television; Sweden)
Sports Documentaries: Ton Sijbrands--Checkers Player Despite All Consequences (NPO / VPRO Television; The Netherlands)
Wildlife & Natural History Programs: Life (BBC in association with Discovery/SKAI/Open University, RTI Spa - BBC1; UK)
Best of Show:
Best Canadian Program: 65_RedRoses (Force Four Entertainment in association with the CBC)
Best Green Program: Bang Goes the Theory: The Human Power Station (Dragonfly Film and Television Productions, BBC; UK)
Green Grand Prize: Louis Psihoyos (Dir.: The Cove; Exec. Dir.: Ocean Preservation Society)



CineGear Expo Film Series
Documentary Features Winner: The Skisherman (Dir./Prod.:  Chandler Kauffman)


Monte-Carlo Television Festival
Golden Nymph Awards:
Best News Documentaries: Dealing with Pirates (Danish Broadcasting Corporation);   China's Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of the Sichuan Province (HBO).
The Prince Rainier III Special Prize: Earth: The Global Challenge (TVI; Portugal) The Urti Prize (Grand Prix for Author's Documentaries): Me, My Gipsy Family and Woody Allen (RAI.; Italy)
The Amade Prize Temple Gardin (HBO)
International Committee of the Red Cross Prize: Fingerprints (YLE Finnish Broadcasting Company)
Signis Prize: One War (Horosho Production; Russia)
Monaco Red Cross Prize: One War (Horosho Production; Russia)


Best Documentary Feature: The Topp Twins: Untouchable Girls (Dir.: Leanne
Best Documentary Short: At Night I Was Beautiful (Dir.: Steven Wilsey); Last Address (Dir.: Ira Sachs)
Audience Award--Documentary: Edie & Thea: A Very Long Engagement (Dirs.: Susan Muska, Greta Olafsdottir)


Rose d'Or Global Television Festival--Nominees
Arts Documentary & Performing Arts
A Country Imagined (Curious Pictures; South Africa)
Ballet Boyz: The Rite of Spring (BBC; UK)
Comrade Couture (ZDF, Germany)
Dance in America: NY Export: Opus Jazz (Thirteen/WNET; USA)
Furious Force of Rhymes (ARTE; France)
Jordi Savall & The Borgias (Lavinia Productions; Spain)
Leif Ove Andsnes - Reframed (NRK Hordaland; Norway)
Lucas & Arthur Jussen - Two Normal Brothers (NPO: The Netherlands)
Paul Nizon: A Day That Isn't Written Is a Day That Isn't Lived (SF Schweizer Fernsehen; Switzerland)
Royal Ballet in Cuba (Channel 4; UK)
The Neighbour (Nordisk Film og TV AS; Norway)
The Radical Gardener (ZDF; Germany)


Social Award

An Englishman in New York (Leopardrama; UK0
Ballet Boyz: The Rite of Spring (BBC; UK)
Blood, Sweat and Takeaways (BBC; UK)
Cast Offs (Channel 4; UK)
Desert Tears (SevenOne International; Germany)
Everything Is a Present (Allegro Films; UK)
Famous, Rich & Homeless (Love Productions; UK)
Furious Force of Rhymes (ARTE; France)
Go Silent (Bayerischer Rundfunk; Germany)
Inside Hana's Suitcase (Xenophile Media; Canada)
Nashwa (Pyramedia; United Arab Emirates)
Race Relations (Princess Pictures; Australia)
Sofa Surfers (Walsh Brothers Ltd.; UK)



Seattle International Film Festival
Grand Jury Prize for Best Documentary: Marwencol (Dir.: Jeff Malmberg)
Grand Jury Prize for Best Documentary Short: White Lines and the Fever: The Death of DJ
(Dir.: Travis Senger )
Golden Space Needle Award--Best Documentary : Ginny Ruffner: A Not So Still Life, (Dir.:
 Karen Stanton);  Waste Land (Dir.: Lucy Walker )
Lena Sharpe Award for Persistence of Vision: The Topp Twins: Untouchable Girls (Dir.: Leanne Pooley)
WaveMaker Special Jury Prize: Celina's Story (Dir.: Celina Chadwick)


Tarifa African Film Festival
The "Ebony Griot" Award for the Best Documentary: Les Larmes De L'émigration (The Tears of the Emigration) (Dir.: Alassane Diago; Senegal, France).
Special Acknowledgements:  Les Damnés De La Mer (Damned of the Sea) (Dir.: Jawad Rhalib; Morocco, Belgium, France); Ceux De La Colline (The Hillside Crowd) (Dir.:  Berni Goldblat; Burkina Faso, France, Switzerland)