

IDA To Honor Producer Arnold Shapiro with the Career Achievement Award and <u>The Sundance Institute's Documentary Film Program with the Pioneer Award</u> <u>at December 7th IDA Documentary Awards Gala</u>

LOS ANGELES, September 4, 2012–The International Documentary Association (IDA) announced top honorary awards for the 2012 IDA Documentary Awards today. The 28th Annual IDA Documentary Awards will be held on Friday, December 7th at the Director's Guild in Los Angeles.

The IDA will award its prestigious 2012 Career Achievement Award to producer Arnold Shapiro. Arnold is the Oscar and Emmy Award-winning producer, director, writer of the documentary *Scared Straight!* Among his other 150 awards are 16 Emmys including the Governors' Award from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, three Humanitas Prizes, The People's Choice Award, and the George Foster Peabody Award. Arnold has produced 33 series including CBS's *Rescue 911* and *Big Brother*, and the current A&E hit series, *Beyond Scared Straight*; four CBS-TV movies, two prime time CBS drama specials, and more than 90 documentaries and specials. Arnold has produced documentary programs for CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, UPN, PBS and 14 cable networks from A&E to HBO.

The IDA Career Achievement Award is given to a filmmaker who has made a major impact on the documentary genre through a long and distinguished body of work. In previous years, IDA has bestowed its Career Achievement Award on documentary luminaries such as Barbara Kopple, Errol Morris, Michael Moore and Les Blank.

IDA announced that the organization's Pioneer Award will be presented to Sundance Institute's groundbreaking Documentary Film Program and Fund (DFP). Established in 2002 with a gift from the Open Society Institute with leadership support from Ford Foundation's Just Films initiative among others, the DFP is a leading creative and financial resource for contemporary-issue nonfiction filmmakers worldwide. Each year the DFP grants and awards \$1-2 million to independent documentary films and conducts a portfolio of Creative Labs and Fellows programs at Sundance Resort, Sundance Film Festival and elsewhere. Under the direction of Cara Mertes, the DFP also convenes events and forges partnerships globally to draw new resources to the non-fiction field, and to amplify the use of film as a tool for impact and motivate change towards more open and equitable societies. In its ten years, the DFP has supported over 425 films including Kirby Dick's *The Invisible War*, Patricio Guzmàn's *Nostalgia For The Light*, Leonard Retel Helmrich's *Position Among The Stars*, Josh Fox's *Gasland*, Tia Lessin and Carl Deal's *Trouble The Water*, and Ross Kauffman and Zana Briski's *Born Into Brothels*.

The Pioneer Award is presented by IDA to acknowledge extraordinary contributions to advancing the nonfiction form and providing exceptional vision and leadership to the documentary community. Past recipients of IDA's Pioneer Award include Alan and Susan Raymond, Rob Epstein, Mel Stuart and Paula Apsell.

"For over forty years, Arnold Shapiro has not only produced, directed and written a number of landmark documentary films and nonfiction programs, but he has also helped to launch the careers of hundreds, if not thousands, of young filmmakers," said IDA Executive Director Michael Lumpkin. "With its ten year history of funding and supporting documentary filmmakers from around the world, the Sundance Documentary Film Program has played a major role in how documentary films change our world today."

Nominees for over a dozen film achievement and special awards will be announced in late October with winners announced at the December 7th IDA Documentary Awards Gala.

For more information on the IDA Documentary Awards, tickets and sponsorship opportunities go to: <u>http://www.documentary.org/awards2012</u>

About the IDA Documentary Awards

The annual IDA Documentary Awards Gala is the world's most prestigious award event solely dedicated to documentary film. For almost three decades, IDA has produced this annual celebration to recognize the most groundbreaking documentary films of the year. In addition to honoring both individuals and organizations for outstanding achievements in documentary filmmaking and contributions to the field, the IDA Documentary Awards also recognize the year's best documentary productions.

About the International Documentary Association

Founded in 1982, the International Documentary Association (IDA) is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization that supports documentary filmmaking worldwide. At IDA, we believe that the power and artistry of the documentary art form are vital to cultures and societies globally, and we exist to serve the needs of those who create this art form. IDA is the portal into the world of documentary filmmaking. We provide up-to-date news, information and community through our website, documentary.org, our various special events, and our quarterly publication, *Documentary* Magazine. Our main program areas are Advocacy, Filmmaker Services, Education and Public Programs & Events.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Amy Grey / Ashley Mariner Dish Communications Phone: 818-508-1000 amyg@dishcommunications.com / ashleym@dishcommunications.com

IDA Documentary Award Sponsors as of September 4, 2012:

GOLD SPONSOR:



SILVER SPONSORS:











