• 2015 host Tig Notaro

  • Jane Fonda and Andie MacDowell at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Barbara Kopple and Robert Redford at the 2014 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Gordon Quinn celebrates 2015 IDA Career Achievement Award with friends

  • Morgan Freeman at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Werner Herzog presents Career Achievement Awards to Les Blank at the 2011 Documentary Awards


The IDA Documentary Awards is the world's most prestigious event dedicated to the documentary genre, celebrating the best nonfiction films and programs of the year. 



The 32nd Annual IDA Documentary Awards takes place on Friday, December 9, 2016 at Paramount Studios in Los Angeles. Tickets for the Paramount Theater main theater are $500. We have added a new element to this year's Awards - the “Pink Ticket Party." This party will view the ceremony in the Sherry Lansing Theater at Paramount Studios. It also includes the pre and post ceremony receptions, an interactive experience with the main theater during the ceremony, and access to a hosted wine/beer bar during the ceremony. Prices for these tickets are $250. IDA members receive 20% off.

The Awards is IDA’s largest annual fundraiser, and while attendees can choose to purchase the ticket that best suits their budget, we encourage you to consider purchasing a higher priced ticket if you are able.



Stanley Nelson
Career Achievement Award

Ally Derks
Pioneer Award

Lyn and Norman Lear
Amicus Award

Nanfu Wang
Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award


May 23:

Call for entries announced

June 7:

Early deadline

July 11:

Regular deadline

October 17:

Tickets on sale

October 19-31:

IDA member voting registration

November 1:

Nominations announced

November 4-23:

IDA members vote for Best Feature and Best Short

December 9:

IDA Documentary Awards ceremony

(Dates subject to change)