• Gordon Quinn celebrates 2015 IDA Career Achievement Award with friends

  • Ava DuVernay and honoree Norman Lear at the 2016 IDA Documentary Awards

  • 2015 host Tig Notaro

  • Jane Fonda and Andie MacDowell at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Barbara Kopple and Robert Redford at the 2014 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Morgan Freeman at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Werner Herzog presents Career Achievement Awards to Les Blank at the 2011 Documentary Awards

  • 2017 host Maz Jobrani

The IDA Documentary Awards is the world's most prestigious event dedicated to the documentary genre, celebrating the best nonfiction films and programs of the year.

IDA invites you to cast your vote for the best features and shorts of the year!

 Current IDA members who have consented to our voting agreement will be able to view the nominated films and cast their votes online from anywhere in the world.  The last day to register to vote is Sunday, November 18th. Online voting takes place from November 4 through December 3. IDA Members, please click the button below to begin your registration. Not an IDA member? Join the family today!


Awards Ceremony

Saturday, December 8, 2018

Paramount Theatre
5555 Melrose Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90038


Can't attend the awards ceremony? Then join us after the awards for our post-awards reception. Enjoy some food and cocktails and catch up with the winners, starting at 9:00pm. Awards ceremony tickets are now sold out. 


Ricki Lake


Julia Reichert

Career Achievement Award

Bing Liu

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award

Chicken & Egg Pictures

Amicus Award

Stephen Maing & NYPD 12

Courage Under Fire Award


May 7: Film/Series Call for Entries Open

July 9: Film/Series Call For Entries Deadline

July 30: Audio Documentary Special Call for Entries Open

September 5: Audio Documentary Call For Entries Deadline

October 9: Best Features and Best Shorts shortlists unveiled

October 24: Nominations, honorees and creative recognition awards winners announced

October 31: General admission ceremony ticket sale begins

November 4 - December 3: IDA member vote for Best Feature and Best Short

December 8: IDA Documentary Awards ceremony

(Dates subject to change)