• Ava DuVernay and honoree Norman Lear at the 2016 IDA Documentary Awards

  • 2015 host Tig Notaro

  • Jane Fonda and Andie MacDowell at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Barbara Kopple and Robert Redford at the 2014 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Morgan Freeman at the 2006 IDA Documentary Awards

  • Werner Herzog presents Career Achievement Awards to Les Blank at the 2011 Documentary Awards

  • 2017 host Maz Jobrani

The IDA Documentary Awards is the world's most prestigious event dedicated to the documentary genre, celebrating the best nonfiction films and programs of the year.

This year the IDA received 785 submissions including 375 documentary features, 153 documentary shorts, 124 documentary series, 89 student films, 48 music documentaries and 44 podcasts. A record forty percent of submissions were international productions or co-productions.

See the nominations

Member Voting

Only IDA members select the Best Feature and Best Short of the year! Become a member today to stream all 20 nominees from anywhere in the world beginning November 4.


Awards Ceremony

Saturday, December 7, 2019
Paramount Studios
5555 Melrose Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90038

GET TICKETS        apply ida member discount


May 6: Call for Entries open

June 10: Early deadline

June 28: Regular deadline

July 8: Extended deadline

October 7: Honorees announced

October 10: Shortlist announced and Early bird tickets on sale

October 23: Nominees announced and Regular tickets on sale

November 4 - December 2: IDA members vote for Best Feature and Best Short

December 7: IDA Documentary Awards ceremony

(Dates subject to change)