Skip to main content

Best Continuing Series Award Nominees 2011

By IDA Editorial Staff

POV (*Winner)
Executive Producer:Simon Killmurry
Co-Executive Producer:Cynthia López
Vice President, Production & Programming: Chris White
Series Producer: Yance Ford
Coordinating Producer:Andrew Catauro
American Documentary/POV, PBS

The award-winning series POV is American television's longest-running showcase for independent nonfiction films. Since 1988, POV has presented over 300 of the best, boldest and most innovative documentaries to PBS audiences across the country. POV films-coupled with unsurpassed national outreach and local collaborations-have brought powerful documentary storytelling into people's lives, and raised public dialogue on issues of international importance to a new level. The series has provided a showcase for established documentary filmmakers like Errol Morris, Jonathan Demme, Michael Moore, Lourdes Portillo, Alan Berliner and Freida Lee Mock, while supporting the efforts of emerging producers with funding initiatives like the Diverse Voices Project. POV has won every coveted industry award, including 27 Emmys, 12 George Foster Peabody Awards and 10 duPont-Columbia Awards.


30 for 30
Executive Producers: Keith Clinkscales, John Dahl, Joan Lynch, Connor Schell, Bill Simmons, John Skipper, John Walsh

Inspired by ESPN's 30th anniversary, ESPN Films launched 30 for 30, an unprecedented documentary series featuring 30 of today's finest storytellers telling 30 remarkable stories from the ESPN era. Each of the films is an intimate look at a specific story, relevant to larger themes from the modern era. Collectively, these films are a diverse mosaic of what sports has meant to American and world culture in the last 30 years. Each storyteller brings passion and personal point of view to his/her film, detailing the issues, trends, athletes, teams, rivalries, games and events that transformed the sports landscape from 1979 to 2009.


American Experience
Executive Producer: Mark Samels
Senior Producer: Sharon Grimberg
Series Producer: Susan Bellows
Coordinating Producer: Susan Mottau

Television's most-watched history series, American Experience has been hailed as "peerless" (Wall Street Journal), "the most consistently enriching program on television" (Chicago Tribune) and "a beacon of intelligence and purpose" (Houston Chronicle). On air and online, the series brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that have shaped America's past and present. Acclaimed by viewers and critics alike, American Experience documentaries have been honored with every major broadcast award, including 27 Emmy Awards, four duPont-Columbia Awards and 15 George Foster Peabody Awards.


The Passionate Eye
Executive Producer: Catherine Olsen
Producers: Andrew Johnson, Carissa Neekon, Rosa Kim, Julia Nunes
CBC News Network

Celebrating its 20th season on the Canada-based CBC News Network, The Passionate Eye presents a selection of the world's best independently produced political, social-issue and current affairs documentaries. Creative, topical and often with a strong point of view, they reveal the world behind the headlines, offering context to world events while informing, provoking and entertaining our viewers. Passionate Eye award-winners include 9/11 State of Emergency; Reel Injun: On the Trail of the Hollywood Indian; Witness Katrina; Donor Unknown: Adventures in the Sperm Trade; Up the Yangtze; Food, Inc.; The Cove; The Oath; Shake Hands with the Devil; Tsunami Caught on Camera; 102 Minutes That Changed the World; and 65 Red Roses.



Executive Producers: Jim Fraenkel, Adam Yamaguchi
Producers: Christof Putzel, Adam Yamaguchi, Mariana van Zeller, Darren Foster, Cerissa Tanner, Jeff Plunkett, Alex Simmons, Shawn Efran, Mitch Koss, John Carlos Frey
Current TV

Vanguard is a no-limits documentary series whose award-winning correspondents put themselves in extraordinary situations to immerse viewers in global issues that have a large social significance. Unlike sound bite-driven reporting, the show's correspondents (Adam Yamaguchi, Christof Putzel and Mariana van Zeller) serve as trusted guides who take viewers on in-depth, real life adventures in pursuit of some of the world's most important stories.